Get Shorty

September 5, 2012

I’ve been working on a couple of books to mark the end of my sabbatical and my summer. Get Shorty got the nod, partly because I’ve seen the movie a couple times, partly because Elmore Leonard was highly recommended by the old guy at the used-book sale for the Manzanita library, and partly because once I got the book home, it sat on the nightstand next to the bed mocking me: “Alan, look at me. I’m the book who is telling you how it is.” Dig,

Chili said, “Harry, look at me,” and waited to see his watery eyes in the kitchen light, frizzed hair standing up. “You’re trying to tell me how you fucked up without sounding stupid, and that’s hard to do.”

I love this stuff.

Chili tells Karen, “Okay, I was a loan shark up till recently and now I’m in the movie business.” Chili tells Ronnie the rich kid, “Hey, Ronnie? Look at me. You have a piece of a movie, Ronnie. That’s all. You don’t have a piece of Harry. … And that’s the way its gonna be.”

Chili was my dialect coach. I sounded like a small-time hood for days. Look at me. I’m the one telling you how it is. You have a piece of my blog, but you don’t have a piece of me. And that’s the way its gonna be.

Leave a Reply

