hand wash cold

July 5, 2011

I had stumbled upon Karen Maezen Miller‘s blog entries on ‘ordinary life’ in Shambhala SunSpace a couple of years ago. Each one was delicious in its own way: sweet insights + tart ordinary life = lemons into lemonade. I figured Miller’s book, hand wash cold, might make a good gift for my wife. No zennie she, but being a housewife, mother, professor – she knows about being busy.

Well, she read the book, said little, and left it where I could read it. It took me awhile, but I eventually read the entire thing. The early chapters didn’t wear so well (just not that interested in the faux success problems of others, I guess), but the book and I went stride for stride once Miller’s life settled down with a new garden, children, and a heron feather. I can read Chapter 19 (“The Hardest Gone: the altar of impermanence”) again and again. I think I will get a Jizo for our garden.

Leave a Reply

